Posting pictures

I am just back from a four week trip to Africa. In an earlier post, I mentioned that I wouldn’t be blogging during that time. In that post, too, I included a picture which I took some years ago during an earlier trip to Central Nigeria. It showed three people and a cow on the back of a pickup. One of the readers of this blog found this picture offensive and advised me to be more culture sensitive. I was a bit surprised, since I didn’t mean to criticize or mock anyone. But then, I decided to delete the post.

Now here is my question to you:

  • What do you think should or should not be shown on a picture taken in Africa?
  • In your opinion, what would be “good practise”, what would be inappropriate?

I realise that this is a bit off-topic for this weblog, which is normally more about learning Hausa and other LCTLs, but it would still be nice to share some of your experiences with me and others.

4 thoughts on “Posting pictures”

  1. Hi. I on numerous occasions scan this forum. This is the oldest period undisputed to ask a query.
    How multifarious in this forum are references progressive behind, disingenuous users?
    Can I bank all the facts that there is?

  2. Dear visitors!

    I am happy that someone noticed that I asked a question which has never been commented on. I wold be happy to read some people’s opinions about good practise in taking pictures in Africa.

Leave a comment